The Dean's Address
Life at the School
Home > ABOUT US > Faculties

The school prioritizes the development of a conducive,fair and supportive environment to attract and retain the best teachers,scholars and scientists.There are currently more than 210 full-time faculty members,of which 43 are professors,76 associate professors,and 55 lecturers. We are proud to have one Cheung Kong Distinguished Professor, two recipients of National Outstanding Youth Fund, two awardees of New Century Talents honored by the Ministry of Education, three Chief Scientists sponsored by the Ministry of Agriculture, and 24 other provincial talent program awardees.


At the end of 2013, Dr. Eddy F. Y. Liew, Fellow of Royal Society (FRS) and Professor of University of Glasgow, UK joined our school as an Honorary Chair Professor of Soochow University, reflecting active ongoing academic collaboration in our School. At present, there are many prominent Chair & Guest Professors actively involving in research collaboration and teaching. Among those internationally renowned scholars are Eddy Liew, Guoping Zhao (Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences),  Peter Delves (Vice Provost and Professor of Immunology, University College of London, UK) and Bin-Feng LU ( Associate Professor , tenure of University of Pittsburgh ) ,et al. 15 investigators from other research institutes of the university have been appointed as guest (part-time) professors in our school and are actively involved in teaching and mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students.


From 2013, 33 new faculty and staff members joined our school and 8 full professors and 19 associate professors received promotion. Professor Xiong Su received supports from ¡®High Level Creative Talent Program¡± of Jiangsu Province,Professor Jian-Ming Li received National Outstanding Youth Fund awarded by National Science Foundation of China in 2015 .   


Major Honorary Titles and Awards
Honorary Titles and Awards Faculty Members
Cheung Kong Distinguished Professorship,
awarded by the Ministry of Education
Xiao-Ming Gao
National Outstanding Youth Fund,
awarded by National Science Foundation of China
Xiao-Ming Gao  Jian-Ming Li 
Chief Scientists,National Key Basic Research and
Development('973') Program of the Ministry of
Science and Technology
Han Wang¡¡
New Century Talents,awarded by the Ministry of Education Hong-Tao Zhang¡¡Jian-Ming Li 
Chief Scientists sponsored by Ministry of Agriculture Wei-De Shen¡¡Yang-Hu Sima¡¡Yu-Qing Zhang
Other provincial talent programs Chao-Ming Xia,Chun-Lin Xia,Zong-Jiang Gu,Cheng-Liang Gong,Shi-Qing Xu,Rui Huang,Lu-Yong Tao,Qu-Fei Ling,Xue-Feng Wang,Shu-Yan Wu,Song-Guang Ju,Bing Li,Chun-Fang Cai,Yi-Feng Zhou,Yu-Zhen Gao,Gong-Yuan Wei
School of Biology & Basic Medical Sciences Soochow University
ADD:199 Ren-AiRoad,Suzhou Industrial Park,Suzhou,China Postcode:215123 TEL/FAX:(86)-512-65880103 EMAIL:jcsw@suda.edu.cn